Sydney Sport


Motorsport Has A Long History, And The Evidence Is Here

The importance and influence of motorsport in the Australian sporting community cannot be overemphasised. This sport has undergone several changes over the years, and here are some historics of Motorsport Australia:

Eligibility Committees

Historic Eligibility Committee

The Historic Eligibility Committee is a sub-committee of the Historic Commission and was established by Motorsport Australia to administer historic eligibility classification of vehicles competing in 5th category events.

Historic Production Based Eligibility Committee (HPBEC)

Similarly to the Historic Eligibility Committee, the Historic Production Based Eligibility Committee (HPBEC) is a sub-unit of the Motorsport Australia Historic Commission. This committee was established to administer the eligibility classification of historic touring cars, sport sedan cars, and production-based cars competing in the 5th category.

Historic Groups of Cars

Historic groups of cars that have made marks in the motorsport industry are group thus:

Groups A, C & N – Touring Cars

Group F – Formula Ford

Formula 5000

Group J – Vintage Cars

Group K – Post-Vintage Thoroughbred Cars

Groups L, M, O, P, Q, R – Historic Racing and Sports Racing Cars

Groups S & T – Production Sports Cars

Group U – Sport Sedans

Group V – Formula Vee Racing Cars

Other Things to Know

High Performance Licence (HPL) Endorsement

Motorsport Australia, in conjunction with the Australian Historic Motorsport Commission (AHMSC), implemented an HPL endorsement for selected historic vehicles. The endorsement was established to mitigate the risks posed by inexperienced in high-performance historic vehicles to other competitors. The changes made were met with approval from the Association of Historic Motor Racing Clubs and F5000 Australia.

Line Of History Guidelines

Line of history is used to determine a vehicle’s history of damage and repair. It is important to know is any vital part of a vehicle has been replaced. The most common replacements are tube chassis-frame, monocoque and body shell.

If no major part has been changed, the line of history would be deemed unbroken. However, if any major part of the vehicle had undergone changes, the line of history is broken, and such a vehicle will be subjected to the line of history guidelines.

Historics Eligibility Officials

Historic eligibility officials are listed along regional lines to include NSW, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Victoria and Tasmania.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

I Am Not An Australian, Can I Still Participate?

Yes. International vehicles and their owners can participate in Australian events but must obtain a Foreign Participation Visa and a Temporary Permit to compete from Motorsport Australia. There is a Competition Visa section on Motorsport Australia’s website to guide you through the process.

What Kind Of International Vehicle Is Eligible To Compete In Australia?

Before an international vehicle can be allowed to compete in Motorsport Australia, the owner of the vehicle must submit paperwork to the secretary of the event proving that the vehicle is eligible in its country of origin. The vehicle will be granted an International Vehicle Temporary to compete for each event the vehicle enters. This is allowed for 12 months until the vehicle is required to get a Motorsport Australia Certificate of Description


Sporting and technical queries can be sent to